Auto Insurance Laws in NC - Greenville Attorney
Auto insurance is a good thing to have. Of all the times and places you might need coverage, it’s best to have it while on the road. Vehicular accidents are fairly common, and you want to avoid having to pay for all the damage and repairs.
Unfortunately, the claims process can be a stressful and slightly confusing process, especially for new customers: contacting an agent, determining eligibility, documenting evidence, filling out forms, etc. The list goes on. There are so many things to keep track of already. To make things even more complicated, some states have slightly different laws pertaining to auto insurance and the claims process. If you live in North Carolina, you’re in luck! Below is a list containing some insurance laws specific to our state.
- NC is a fault state. If and when a person is in an automobile accident, the driver at fault for the accident is held responsible and will not be allowed to collect any insurance money. This is specific to North Carolina, as some states require that insurance companies pay the victims, regardless of fault. If you ever find yourself in an automobile accident in NC, be careful not to immediately take the blame for the incident.
- Coverage extends outside NC, but not out of the US. If you are a resident of North Carolina, the broadening clause dictates that your auto insurance coverage will extend to the other states. If you get into an accident outside your home state, the same insurance guidelines will apply there as they would in NC. This includes the “no-fault” states, where drivers must have personal injury protection (PIP). In these cases, your coverage will automatically broaden to include PIP.
- Household drivers affect insurance premiums. If you are the policyholder, your family’s driving record (or that of anyone who uses your car) will affect your insurance premiums. Be sure that the people you lend your car to are safe and trustworthy.
- Uninsured motorist coverage is required by law in NC. Uninsured motorist (UM) coverage is meant to protect you against uninsured drivers. This may be bundled with automobile liability insurance, which must also be maintained. Coverage must meet a minimum requirement of $30,000 bodily injury per person and a $60,000 total cost for all injuries to all victims.
Regardless of where you live, insurance may save you quite a bit of money some day. Be sure to keep these specifics in mind the next time you find yourself in an automobile accident. Wayne Hardee Law specializes in insurance cases. If you need representation or find yourself in a tough legal spot, contact us today!